Caught Driving with a Suspended License? It’s a DUR

Caught Driving with a Suspended License? It's a DUR

Sometimes, people drive when they know they shouldn’t be driving. This can include driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. It can also involve driving when you don’t have the proper drivers license – because it’s been suspended.

When you drive on a suspended license in the state of Colorado, you can face some extensive penalties. It’s not simply a situation where you’re given a warning and asked never to do it again, so it’s something to be taken very seriously. Here’s what you need to know about driving under revocation (DUR) and the penalties that can be faced.

Why Licenses Get Suspended in Colorado

There are several scenarios that can lead to a license suspension in Colorado. They include:

  • Those caught driving under the influence with a blood alcohol level above the legal limit
  • Those who have too many DMV points on their license as the result of traffic infractions or crimes
  • Those who have an outstanding judgment against them for not paying child support

What Can Happen If Caught Driving with a Suspended License?

The penalty that someone can face for driving on a suspended license depends on the reason the license was suspended in the first place.

If the reason for the suspended license was because of driving under the influence (DUI), DUI per se, underage DUI, or driving while ability impaired (DWAI), then a first conviction is a misdemeanor charge that can result in:

  • Up to 12 months in jail
  • As much as $1,000 in fines
  • An extension of the license suspension by up to one year

If it’s a second conviction for driving with a suspended license due to a DUI, then you face misdemeanor charges that can result in more serious penalties such as:

  • Up to two years in jail
  • As much as $3,000 in fines
  • An extension of the license suspension for up to four years

If the reason for the license suspension is because of DMV points on someone’s license, then a first DUS conviction can result in:

  • As many as six months in jail
  • Fines of up to $500
  • An additional one year of suspension of the driver’s license

A second offense for a DUS can result in:

  • Up to 180 days in jail
  • Fines of $500
  • An extension of three years of the license suspension

If there’s an outstanding judgment based on the reasons for the driver’s license suspension, then you can face three additional DMV points on your license and a fine of up to $100.

Defenses to DUR Charges

If you are caught driving with a suspended license, then it’s important to contact an experienced attorney who can help you fight the charges against you. Every case is different, but, in general, there are a few defenses used in cases involving driving while on a suspended license, including:

  • The DMV had incorrect records pertaining to your license and the number of points you had accrued, resulting in an incorrectly suspended license
  • You did not know your license had been suspended or revoked
  • You never received notice that your license had been suspended and, therefore, you did not know you had no driving privileges

Colorado Springs DUR Lawyer

It’s important to note that even in situations where there is an emergency, it’s still a traffic violation to the driver on a suspended license. If you acted reasonably, however, given the circumstances you experienced, then the prosecutor may decide to drop the charges – if you were driving in an emergency.

About the Author:

Andrew Bryant is a well-respected Colorado Springs criminal attorney who has been practicing in the area for years. A Colorado native, he returned to the home he loves after graduating from the University of Kentucky College of Law. Now, he uses the knowledge he gained as an El Paso County District Attorney to fight tirelessly for his clients’ rights. He is AV-Preeminent rated, has been recognized for his work by The National Trial Lawyers, and has been named to Best of the Springs lists by The Gazette for years.