High Asset Divorces: Colorado’s Marital Property Laws and Implications
September 12, 2023READ THE POST
Many consequences can occur when found guilty of a DUI in Colorado. You can go to jail. You are required to pay fines and even lose your license. But one consequence only a few people think about or may need to learn about is being ordered to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle.
Even first-time DUI offenders in the state can be required to have an ignition interlock device for several months or even years, depending on the circumstances of their DUI. Many people wonder if there is any way to get this device removed early from your vehicle in the state and the answer to that, fortunately, is yes.
However, there are several things to understand about getting your device removed early. Read on to find out more about it.
An ignition interlock device is a system that tests your breath. It’s installed on a car and will not allow it to turn on unless the driver breathes into the machine and doesn’t have alcohol in their system. You also must periodically breathe into the device as you drive to keep the car in motion. Its purpose is the prevention of additional DUIs.
The upside to these devices is that they allow people to keep their license after a DUI, albeit restricted, so that they can go to school or work.
To have your ignition interlock system removed early; you must meet a few requirements. The DMV in the state may allow you to have your device uninstalled after it’s been in place for four months if it was your first DUI and you have been compliant up to this point.
What does being compliant mean? It means that you never failed any tests on the ignition interlock system, didn’t tamper with it, and didn’t try to circumvent it by letting someone else blow into it or attempt to drive another car.
If that’s all true, you can ask the DMV to remove your device.
To have your device removed, you must:
For the courts to consider having the device removed early, you must be a first-time offender, had a blood alcohol level of 0.15 percent or lower at the time of your DUI, have been a minimum of 21 years old when you got your DUI, are a resident of Colorado, and have been compliant for at least 120 days with the ignition interlock device.
Once you’ve completed your 120 days incident-free, you can contact the company that installed your device and request they fax a compliance letter to the Colorado DMV. You may have to be persistent to accomplish this step, but your attorney is happy to help.
Once the DMV gets the letter, you should receive a letter from the DMV. If this doesn’t happen, your attorney can request a DMV hearing.
After you’ve completed the necessary steps, you can have your ignition interlock device removed early and cancel the special insurance you had to carry if your DUI didn’t result in an accident. Your driving privileges get restored, and you can return to living your life.
About the Author:
Andrew Bryant is a well-respected Colorado Springs criminal attorney practicing in the area for years. A Colorado native, he returned to the home he loves after graduating from the University of Kentucky College of Law. Now, he uses the knowledge he gained as an El Paso County District Attorney to fight tirelessly for his clients’ rights. He is AV-Preeminent rated, has been recognized for his work by The National Trial Lawyers, and has been named to Best of the Springs lists by The Gazette for years.
Contact The Law Office of Andrew Bryant today for a free consultation concerning your criminal or family law case. You are just a click away from a top-rated and respected team with the experience and tenacity to ensure you get the best legal services offered in Colorado Springs – call or email now.